Materials / Printers, Inks & Paint

Printers, Inks & Paint prices

Wide-format printers, UV/solvent/latex inks, and sign paints and enamels.

Printing ink manufacturing
+3.6%
YoY · +5.7% since Jan 2025 · Sep 2026
Sign manufacturing (finished signs)
+0.3%
YoY · +2.0% since Jan 2025

Price index since 2019

10011012013014020192020202120222023202420252026Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2019: 212.9 (rebased 100.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2019: 213.3 (rebased 100.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2019: 213.5 (rebased 100.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2019: 213.5 (rebased 100.3)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2019: 213.5 (rebased 100.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2019: 213.5 (rebased 100.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2019: 213.6 (rebased 100.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2019: 214.7 (rebased 100.8)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2019: 214.9 (rebased 100.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Oct 2019: 214.8 (rebased 100.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Nov 2019: 214.7 (rebased 100.8)Printing ink manufacturing · Dec 2019: 214.9 (rebased 100.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2020: 213.5 (rebased 100.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2020: 213.6 (rebased 100.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2020: 214.2 (rebased 100.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2020: 214.3 (rebased 100.7)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2020: 214.2 (rebased 100.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2020: 214.1 (rebased 100.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2020: 212.9 (rebased 100.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2020: 213.3 (rebased 100.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2020: 213.4 (rebased 100.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Oct 2020: 216.4 (rebased 101.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Nov 2020: 216.9 (rebased 101.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Dec 2020: 216.8 (rebased 101.8)Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2021: 216.7 (rebased 101.8)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2021: 216.9 (rebased 101.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2021: 217 (rebased 101.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2021: 218.7 (rebased 102.7)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2021: 219.2 (rebased 103.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2021: 223.4 (rebased 104.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2021: 223.541 (rebased 105.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2021: 228.539 (rebased 107.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2021: 228.67 (rebased 107.4)Printing ink manufacturing · Oct 2021: 232.762 (rebased 109.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Nov 2021: 234.368 (rebased 110.1)Printing ink manufacturing · Dec 2021: 234.324 (rebased 110.1)Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2022: 236.652 (rebased 111.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2022: 236.648 (rebased 111.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2022: 239.33 (rebased 112.4)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2022: 241.53 (rebased 113.4)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2022: 249.896 (rebased 117.4)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2022: 248.261 (rebased 116.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2022: 248.474 (rebased 116.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2022: 254.093 (rebased 119.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2022: 252.676 (rebased 118.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Oct 2022: 252.782 (rebased 118.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Nov 2022: 254.066 (rebased 119.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Dec 2022: 254.54 (rebased 119.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2023: 258.362 (rebased 121.4)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2023: 259.026 (rebased 121.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2023: 259.006 (rebased 121.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2023: 260.26 (rebased 122.2)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2023: 260.196 (rebased 122.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2023: 260.228 (rebased 122.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2023: 261.199 (rebased 122.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2023: 258.831 (rebased 121.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2023: 258.523 (rebased 121.4)Printing ink manufacturing · Oct 2023: 259.002 (rebased 121.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Nov 2023: 261.071 (rebased 122.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Dec 2023: 261.555 (rebased 122.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2024: 261.285 (rebased 122.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2024: 260.214 (rebased 122.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2024: 260.406 (rebased 122.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2024: 258.053 (rebased 121.2)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2024: 257.815 (rebased 121.1)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2024: 257.85 (rebased 121.1)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2024: 257.626 (rebased 121.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2024: 256.86 (rebased 120.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2024: 256.962 (rebased 120.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Oct 2024: 255.688 (rebased 120.1)Printing ink manufacturing · Nov 2024: 257.073 (rebased 120.7)Printing ink manufacturing · Dec 2024: 257.303 (rebased 120.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2025: 257.596 (rebased 121.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2025: 257.557 (rebased 121.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2025: 257.511 (rebased 121.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2025: 260.766 (rebased 122.5)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2025: 261.47 (rebased 122.8)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2025: 261.899 (rebased 123.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2025: 262.397 (rebased 123.2)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2025: 262.442 (rebased 123.3)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2025: 262.94 (rebased 123.5)Printing ink manufacturing · Oct 2025: 263.086 (rebased 123.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Nov 2025: 262.911 (rebased 123.5)Printing ink manufacturing · Dec 2025: 262.97 (rebased 123.5)Printing ink manufacturing · Jan 2026: 263.923 (rebased 124.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Feb 2026: 263.922 (rebased 124.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Mar 2026: 264.094 (rebased 124.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Apr 2026: 263.968 (rebased 124.0)Printing ink manufacturing · May 2026: 272.512 (rebased 128.0)Printing ink manufacturing · Jun 2026: 272.381 (rebased 127.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Jul 2026: 271.756 (rebased 127.6)Printing ink manufacturing · Aug 2026: 272.297 (rebased 127.9)Printing ink manufacturing · Sep 2026: 272.335 (rebased 127.9)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2019: 183.4 (rebased 100.0)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2019: 183.2 (rebased 99.9)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2019: 183.5 (rebased 100.1)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2019: 181.7 (rebased 99.1)Sign manufacturing · May 2019: 181.7 (rebased 99.1)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2019: 181.6 (rebased 99.0)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2019: 181.6 (rebased 99.0)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2019: 184.9 (rebased 100.8)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2019: 185 (rebased 100.9)Sign manufacturing · Oct 2019: 185 (rebased 100.9)Sign manufacturing · Nov 2019: 185 (rebased 100.9)Sign manufacturing · Dec 2019: 185.4 (rebased 101.1)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2020: 186.2 (rebased 101.5)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2020: 186.2 (rebased 101.5)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2020: 186.3 (rebased 101.6)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2020: 186.3 (rebased 101.6)Sign manufacturing · May 2020: 186.3 (rebased 101.6)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2020: 186.3 (rebased 101.6)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2020: 186.3 (rebased 101.6)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2020: 187.3 (rebased 102.1)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2020: 187.3 (rebased 102.1)Sign manufacturing · Oct 2020: 187.3 (rebased 102.1)Sign manufacturing · Nov 2020: 187.3 (rebased 102.1)Sign manufacturing · Dec 2020: 187.3 (rebased 102.1)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2021: 187.6 (rebased 102.3)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2021: 188 (rebased 102.5)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2021: 189.3 (rebased 103.2)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2021: 189.5 (rebased 103.3)Sign manufacturing · May 2021: 191.2 (rebased 104.3)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2021: 196.3 (rebased 107.0)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2021: 197.362 (rebased 107.6)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2021: 194.156 (rebased 105.9)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2021: 193.602 (rebased 105.6)Sign manufacturing · Oct 2021: 194.946 (rebased 106.3)Sign manufacturing · Nov 2021: 196.796 (rebased 107.3)Sign manufacturing · Dec 2021: 198.069 (rebased 108.0)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2022: 206.719 (rebased 112.7)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2022: 207.036 (rebased 112.9)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2022: 210.106 (rebased 114.6)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2022: 212.484 (rebased 115.9)Sign manufacturing · May 2022: 213.849 (rebased 116.6)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2022: 215.242 (rebased 117.4)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2022: 218.382 (rebased 119.1)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2022: 225.686 (rebased 123.1)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2022: 225.428 (rebased 122.9)Sign manufacturing · Oct 2022: 226.325 (rebased 123.4)Sign manufacturing · Nov 2022: 226.686 (rebased 123.6)Sign manufacturing · Dec 2022: 227.609 (rebased 124.1)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2023: 229.51 (rebased 125.1)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2023: 228.117 (rebased 124.4)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2023: 228.164 (rebased 124.4)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2023: 228.114 (rebased 124.4)Sign manufacturing · May 2023: 235.682 (rebased 128.5)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2023: 235.654 (rebased 128.5)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2023: 235.8 (rebased 128.6)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2023: 235.8 (rebased 128.6)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2023: 235.794 (rebased 128.6)Sign manufacturing · Oct 2023: 238.082 (rebased 129.8)Sign manufacturing · Nov 2023: 238.005 (rebased 129.8)Sign manufacturing · Dec 2023: 238.566 (rebased 130.1)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2024: 240.743 (rebased 131.3)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2024: 242.325 (rebased 132.1)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2024: 247.179 (rebased 134.8)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2024: 247.655 (rebased 135.0)Sign manufacturing · May 2024: 252.149 (rebased 137.5)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2024: 251.429 (rebased 137.1)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2024: 251.982 (rebased 137.4)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2024: 255.463 (rebased 139.3)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2024: 255.463 (rebased 139.3)Sign manufacturing · Oct 2024: 256.399 (rebased 139.8)Sign manufacturing · Nov 2024: 256.399 (rebased 139.8)Sign manufacturing · Dec 2024: 256.566 (rebased 139.9)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2025: 257.434 (rebased 140.4)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2025: 257.424 (rebased 140.4)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2025: 257.424 (rebased 140.4)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2025: 257.424 (rebased 140.4)Sign manufacturing · May 2025: 259.608 (rebased 141.6)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2025: 259.327 (rebased 141.4)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2025: 259.464 (rebased 141.5)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2025: 261.911 (rebased 142.8)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2025: 261.911 (rebased 142.8)Sign manufacturing · Oct 2025: 263.604 (rebased 143.7)Sign manufacturing · Nov 2025: 263.604 (rebased 143.7)Sign manufacturing · Dec 2025: 263.604 (rebased 143.7)Sign manufacturing · Jan 2026: 264.041 (rebased 144.0)Sign manufacturing · Feb 2026: 261.353 (rebased 142.5)Sign manufacturing · Mar 2026: 261.353 (rebased 142.5)Sign manufacturing · Apr 2026: 262.573 (rebased 143.2)Sign manufacturing · May 2026: 263.892 (rebased 143.9)Sign manufacturing · Jun 2026: 261.008 (rebased 142.3)Sign manufacturing · Jul 2026: 261.008 (rebased 142.3)Sign manufacturing · Aug 2026: 262.568 (rebased 143.2)Sign manufacturing · Sep 2026: 262.568 (rebased 143.2)
Printing ink manufacturing (PCU325910325910)Sign manufacturing (PCU339950339950)

Rebased: each line = 100 at Jan 2019. Hover a point for the raw FRED index value. Source: U.S. BLS Producer Price Index / IMF via FRED.

What it means for your quotes

Printing ink manufacturing is +3.6% over the past year and +5.7% since January 2025, while finished-sign prices are +0.3% and +2.0%. Input costs are outrunning what the market is paying for signs, so quotes priced off last year's material costs are likely to lose margin. The log below holds 6 US supplier notices with a stated %, the largest being Epson at +24% (All Epson products (printers, ink, parts, warranties)). Check effective dates before you hold a quote open.

Index series used on this page
  • PCU325910325910: Printing ink manufacturing (industry PPI) (Index Jun 1984=100). Used for: Wide-format ink proxy.

Supplier price-increase log (14)

SupplierProductChangeAnnouncedEffectiveRegionSource
EpsonEcoSolvent inks (SureColor S-series) ~7%; water-based inks ~5%
EUROPE: German distributor Luzar update; US pricing may differ
+5-7%Jun 18, 2026Jul 1, 2026EUsource
One ShotOne Shot lettering enamels
Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date)
+5%May 4, 2026Jul 1, 2026USsource
Roland DGRoland products
Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date); % not in title (German distributor OVOL lists Roland ink ~6%, hardware ~5% same date)
not statedMay 1, 2026Jun 1, 2026USsource
Matthews PaintSign paint
Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date)
+5%May 1, 2026Jul 1, 2026USsource
MarabuAll Marabu inks
Second 2025 Marabu increase (first effective 2025-05-05); % not published on APC log
not statedSep 3, 2025Sep 8, 2025USsource
MutohSelect printers, starter inks, parts and consumables
Price increase; % not published on APC log
not statedAug 7, 2025Sep 7, 2025USsource
Roland DGRoland printers/inks (tariff charge)
Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date); tariff charge
+10%May 6, 2025Jun 1, 2025USsource
EpsonSelect products
Price increase after the April rescission; % not published on APC log
not statedApr 29, 2025Jun 1, 2025USsource
Mimaki USAMachines, inks, parts and maintenance items
Price increase; % not published on APC log
not statedApr 22, 2025Jun 1, 2025USsource
HPHP Stitch printers and ink
Price increase; % not published on APC log
not statedApr 21, 2025May 4, 2025USsource
INX Digital (Triangle Inks)Digital UV, solvent and water-based inks
Line-item tariff; % not published on APC log
not statedApr 7, 2025May 1, 2025USsource
EpsonAll Epson products (printers, ink, parts, warranties)
Tariff increase announced effective immediately; RESCINDED 2025-04-10 after the 90-day reciprocal tariff pause (per Grimco notice and APC tariff log)
+24% rescindedApr 6, 2025Apr 6, 2025USsource
Ronan PaintSign paint
Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date)
+4%Jan 23, 2025Feb 1, 2025USsource
Matthews PaintSign paint (all Matthews)
Mid-West Sign Supply pricing post (title-only post; % and date from post title; announced = post date)
+4%Jan 16, 2025Mar 1, 2025USsource
Sponsor slot — available. Advertise on SignCost Index